top of page

Your Body


Six women leaning on white wall
Photo by Clarke Sanders on Unsplash

I recently came across old pictures of myself from 5 to 15 years ago and I thought, wow, I was a beauty ( I still am😊 by the way). And to think at that point in my life, I was killing myself over losing weight so I could be called "beautiful" and be acceptable. By whom? I don't know.


Many people gave unsolicited opinions about my weight, telling me how I needed to lose some of it. But looking back now at my pictures, I ask myself where was the weight?


All I saw when I looked at those pictures was a young, beautiful girl who was not skinny but had a healthy dose of flesh. Then I started to feel regret that I didn't live my life in full because I let others dictate how I felt about my body. I let people who I didn't know or who didn't know I existed tell me what the perfect body size was and I killed myself trying to attain it.


I spent most of my time starving, trying out one fad diet or the other just to lose weight. At a point in my life when I could have channeled my time and energy into productive activities, that was what consumed me the most.

A lot of people made fun of me and what they said about my body affected my self-esteem and confidence in who I was. Now I wish I could turn back the hands of time and go back to live in the fullness of who I was, loving my body the way it was.


Since I obviously can't do that, I have decided that nobody is going to dictate to me how my body should look or how I should feel about my body. As long as I am healthy, I do not care about your opinions. If they are not positive, keep it to yourself, please.


Whatever season you may be in now dear sister, do not let anyone dictate to you how you should feel about your body. Instead, believe what your creator says about it. Enjoy the gift of the body type He gave you, love it, and care for it now because one day you will look back and wish you did just that.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page