top of page

Uncomfortable Body Parts



Talking about our body, what part of yours are you conscious of or uncomfortable with?


For me, it used to be my hands and feet. After watching movies and reading romance novels, I grew up with the mindset that a woman should be smaller than a man. A woman's hand should be small, slim, and "petite", while a man's should be wide and bulky.


I have big feet and big hands. Because of the size of my hand, I was always conscious when shaking hands with men. Imagine how I felt whenever I would shake a man's hand and my hand was basically the same size as his or mine was larger, ah 🙆🏾‍♀️🙆🏾‍♀️😭. I would feel so bad.


It got to a point where I stopped shaking men in my university days, using shari'a as an excuse because I was dating a Muslim back then. I was relieved because it wasn't easy having to feel bad every time I shook hands with a man. Imagine the number of times I had to go through those emotions in a day.


As for my feet, I wear a size 42, so buying shoes for myself was really frustrating while growing up. The Igbo men in the market would make fun of the size of my feet, and I would feel bad. But then, there was nothing I could do about it. It wasn't like weight that I could lose. I even started daydreaming at some point about surgically reducing the size of my feet😂😂😂.


Over time, as my relationship with God grew, the realization that I didn't create myself or choose the size of my hands and feet hit me. God blessed me with them to do His work, and if the size of my feet or hands is an issue for anyone, they should kindly look away and mind their business while I carry my feet to run the errands God asked of me.


Dear sister, are you uncomfortable about the shape or size of your eyes, ears or nose? The size of your stomach? Your hands or feet like me?


Let me remind you that you didn't create yourself, and your opinion was not asked when you were created. So please do not let someone or some people who don't have even a tiny capacity or ability to create a human being make you feel uncomfortable in yourself because you are not a certain way physically. Enjoy and use to the glory of your creator what you have been gifted with.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page